Sexism Undressed

Screen Shot 2015-02-10 at 9.08.26 PM

Double standards double standards is what everyone is crying.

Women deem a man attractive and the insults are flying, “If a man said that,” they say, “Everyone would be outraged, if a man said what she said then there would be no denying, it would be called offensive sexist inappropriate and rude, a disgrace a shame an archaic attitude. Double standards, dude.”

Sexist speech, like any social breach, involves power. This kind of prejudice is experienced every minute every hour, it’s what makes me scared to be alone at night, it’s what makes me think I’ll get raped without being able to put up a fight, it’s every moment I’m touched by a man’s hands or even his sight, lascivious looks and comments, so graphic I want to vomit, let me make this clear — this is not a contest.

You cannot create equality by equating some commentary about an attractive man with the thousands of years we were suppressed. You cannot profess to things you only guess about a struggle, and there’s plenty, considering women couldn’t vote until 1920, did you even know that? Did you? That’s sexism undressed, try to tell me now that you want to protest, that girls discussing a man on the internet is unfair, make yourself sound good, or maybe fight objectification, rape culture, and superficiality like you should.

Leave a comment